Part One- … Is This Really Happening???

Amanda Kuszak
Major: Social Work
Tourism Spaces in the United Kingdom Program, Summer II 2017

I knew in February that I would be traveling to Europe that coming July, but it never fully sank in. I was accepted into my study abroad program, Tourism Spaces of the U.K., which is a three week program. During those three weeks, my peers and I would be traveling around England observing how tourism effects its cities. I was so excited to have this opportunity, and quickly decided to extend my trip to Europe for another week to explore more countries. I began the planning process straight away.  

It’d been a few years since I last traveled, so I had a huge craving for adventure. I want to see so much of the world in my short lifetime, so narrowing down where to go for this week was a bit difficult. I wanted to make the most out of my trip while still taking the time to truly appreciate the places I visit. I started by making a list of the top European countries I’d like to visit, then began grouping them together by location. I strongly considered a trip through Northern Italy, Switzerland, and Austria, but decided to put that on my travel bucket-list for later. Instead, I decided to venture to the Netherlands and see the beauty of Amsterdam I’ve heard so much about. After spending three days there, I’ll fly into Norway and lose myself in the beauty of the Fjords.

Right before landing in London.

As July crept closer, I got many inquiries about my trip. “Are you ready?” Yes, I was ready. I prepared well by booking my flights and hostels in advance (If you’re looking for the best deal, I recommend using skyscanner.com. I was able to buy 4 tickets for less than 1k!)  “Are you nervous?” No, I wasn’t nervous. To be honest, I didn’t think of my trip much prior to leaving. I did at times, but it was just a passing thought before I shifted my attention. “Are you excited?” Of course I was excited when I thought about the idea… but that’s all it felt like, an idea. Something within me was unable to grasp the reality that I would be traveling to Europe for four weeks. Even harder to grasp was the idea that I would be solo traveling for a good portion of it. I think that I subconsciously avoided thinking about my trip to prevent the nerves and nausea.

Leading up to the trip, I thought it would hit me the night before and I would have difficulty sleeping, but that was not the case. I fell asleep smoothly and woke up sleepily. My brain knew I would be leaving soon, but my body didn’t quite feel it yet. I made my way to the train station and tried to stomach the fact that I would be in London, England in less than 24 hours. I stood in line at the Ann Arbor station and waited for the train, watching the minutes tick by. I felt as if I were in a dream-like haze. Almost like I was floating above, watching myself stand in line. The train rolled up and I moved towards its doors. This is it, I thought to myself, see ya later America!

 


Getting ready to board at OHare International Airport in Chicago

 

I got on the train and found a window seat, then reached for my headphones. As I tried to settle the tangled mess they had become, I felt them… the nerves. I suddenly became very aware of my shallow breathing, my nausea, and my shaking hands. Before I knew it, a huge smile spread across my face. Even though I felt sick to the point of fainting, I finally felt it! I still had a four hour train ride ahead of me into Chicago, then a nine hour flight, so I focused on calming down. I took deep breaths, put my music on, and played with my fidget spinner. (Judge all you want, that was the best $3 I ever spent!) The rest of the train ride went smoothly and 5 hours later I arrived in Chicago!

Once I got off at the Chicago Union Station, I asked someone what the cheapest way to get to the airport would be. It was about 30 minutes away so an uber would’ve added up quickly. The nice man at the kiosk told me that there was a route on The L (the Chicago subway) that would take me straight to the airport for only $3. After a stressful 15 minute walk back and forth, I found the entrance that led downstairs to The L. Once I was on the subway I felt the nerves again. This time they came in a lump in my throat and an unquenchable thirst. I chugged some water and tried not to think about it too much. At this point I just wanted to get on the plane so I could sleep, I was exhausted!

The L pulled up to the Chicago O’Hare International Airport 2 hours before my flight. I set off to find my terminal, which of course required a shuttle to get to, so the extra two hours proved most helpful. Once I found my terminal and passed through security, I made my way to my gate. At this point I wasn’t sure if it was the nerves or the lack of food in my stomach, but I began feeling faint again. I wandered around the airport on a mission to find the cheapest food I could find, and eventually ordered a “margarita pizza” (aka a thin crust cheese pizza with tomato sauce) for $14… gotta love supply & demand!

 

Finally, it was time to board. I took out my passport, boarding pass, and travel pillow and made my way toward the plane entrance. The nerves had left and been replaced with a tired excitement. All I had to do was sit on this plane for 6 hours, then a short connecting flight in Iceland, and I would be in London! I stared out the window as the sun set and the moon rose, full and bright. I felt my eyelids growing heavier, and smiled as I drifted into an awkwardly positioned slumber. I can’t believe this is really happening!

 

 

Leave a comment