You Wont Regret It

Amber Burbon
Major: Marketing
Summer II Lyon Program, 2017

I’ve had a lot of people ask me how my time was abroad and to describe it them. I find these difficult questions to answer because how do I sum up the new life I found abroad? How could I possibly do it justice in only a few words?

I made friends who became more to me like family. I saw and experienced things that I only dreamed I would ever get to. I lived a different life that showed me it’s okay to shake things up sometimes; to break your routine and step outside of your comfort zone. I tried new foods that I loved, and some that I didn’t. I met students from across the world who taught me so many new things. It was amazing to become a community with so many people of different cultures, languages and backgrounds. Even this brief description of my time abroad, doesn’t do it justice.

I knew that I would love my time abroad, but I never thought that it would be so hard to leave.

It’s so challenging to put into words the mixed feelings I have about being back at home. It’s so good to see my family and friends, and go back to work, but now it sort of feels like something is missing. It took me a while abroad to adjust to my new reality, my new daily routines and the new people in my life. However, I found my rhythm and I worked it. At first, I was afraid to speak the language and use it on a daily basis, but now, I miss speaking it.

The adjustment going abroad and coming back isn’t always an easy one, but for me, it was worth it. I will always remember my time abroad as some of the best experiences of my life. I will consider my host family, just that, family, for the rest of my life. I hope some day I can go back and visit them or they can come visit me.

To anybody considering studying abroad, my advice would be to take the leap of faith and go. It will change you, in good ways. It will challenge you and show you all the amazing things you’re capable of. It will open your eyes to the world that is waiting for you. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

