Growing Through Experiences

Abimbola Jubril
Communication Major
Media Ethics in London Program, Summer II 2017

In a city as big as London, the transportation system is a vital part of everyday life here. The public transportation is like any other transportation system in big cities in the United States, it takes a while to get used to it, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second nature. I have used public transportation almost every day since I have been here in London. I use an oyster card to get in the tube station and take trains to get me to my destinations.

I love the transportation system here. Furthermore, aside from trains, there are also other alternatives of transportation. Since I’ve been here, I’ve also used taxies and busses to get around. People also ride bikes as a way to get around, although if you don’t know the city well, I wouldn’t recommend it. Some of the places that we sometimes go to are just a few blocks away, so walking is always an option if you don’t feel like taking the tube or paying for a taxi. If you are someone who doesn’t like to drive, using these transportation options are the next best thing. Not to mention they help keep our environment cleaner by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The trains are usually packed and the environment can get hectic at times, but as long as you know where you are going, you will be just fine.

Before arriving here, I knew that some of my expectations would be met and some would be challenged, therefore, I was definitely surprised by a few things when I first arrived. For one, I have never experienced what it is like to live in a big city, so on my first day, I was taken aback by the fast-paced nature of the city. Even though this was something I was aware of before I came, experiencing the hustle and bustle in real-time and anticipating it prior to coming are two different stories. I was also surprised by the weather here. I expected it to be a little warmer than it has been. I also noticed that everyone carries an umbrella with them at every point in time while out an about. Much like Michigan weather, the weather in the United Kingdom can change at a moment’s notice. One minute the sun is shining, the next minute it starts to rain. So, I learned very quickly to always have my umbrella handy.

I am enjoying my study abroad trip more than I ever thought I would. The program is not over yet, but I already can’t wait to come back. I love this country, there is so much to see, so much to explore, but in such a limited time. I feel like I’ve had a little taste of everything. The beautiful sites, the people, the food, the history, the culture, everything I’ve experienced in a little less than two weeks are experiences that a short time ago were long term dreams of mine, but this study abroad in London made those dreams a reality. I am forever grateful for this opportunity to travel and study abroad, thank you, Western Michigan University.

Leave a Reply

