Fashionista in Florence

Sydney Juncaj
Major: Textile and Apparel Studies- Merchandising
Florence University of the Arts , Summer I 2017

ITALY. When most people picture this romantic European country they imagine amazing cuisine, exquisite art, and picturesque landscapes. As a self-proclaimed fashionista, the first thing that comes to my mind when imaging Italy is FASHION. The great minds behind the most famous fashion labels in history stem from Italy. The original designers of Versace, Prada, Valentino, Dolce & Gabbana, and Fendi all call Italy home- this factor alone played the biggest role in my decision to attend FUA (Florence University of the Arts) for the summer. It is extremely important to study abroad when studying the fashion industry. You must to learn how different cultures and societies across the world express themselves with different forms of dress. To understand ones culture, you must understand their dress. Italian’s are elegant, trendy, bold and chic. An Italian woman would never be caught without her high heels and a glass of wine (I’ll fit right in). Their forms of dress are carefree; to reflect the always-humid climate but luxurious at the same time- like they’d be on the cover of Vogue Italia. The Italian way of fashion was more than enough to draw me to the country.

Traveling to Florence will be my first time out of the country but my fears of traveling alone does not compare to my fears of not being able to precisely fit my entire wardrobe into a suitcase. My clothing must make a fabulous first impression even if my mouth doesn’t open and traveling light is not my forte.

My family, just like any other family is worried sick about my trip abroad. My parents have always supported my decisions and push me to travel outside my comfort zone even when their own state of mind is sacrificed. My Italian mother and Albanian father are watching their little girl do her first big adult adventure alone.

I’m more than excited to completely immerse myself in the Italian culture and way of life. This trip will not only be a learning experience but an experience of a lifetime. I’m so grateful that I get an opportunity to further develop my fashion skills in one of the most fabulous countries in Europe.

Until next time….

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

