We’re Not So Different After All

Anastasia Metros
Food and Consumer Package Goods Marketing
German Business and Culture
Summer I faculty-led program in Berlin and Paderborn, Germany

Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros

I didn’t really think about how different or similar my university that I would be studying in would be to Western. The more I think about it the more I realize they are similar. You can get to campus by bus, walking, or driving. There are multiple buildings that make up the campus and there is the main one. Sow thing different is that they are just labeled with numbers rather than different names. When you are eating a meal you can either go to the Menza or the Cafe.

The Cafe is smaller and has just sandwiches and pastries and some drinks. The Cafe is best for breakfast, I went there most mornings for breakfast.

Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros

The Menza is where I went for lunch most days. The Menza would either measure your food by weight or it already had a predetermined price. The only problem with the Menza food is the price would add up quickly, my meal could either be 3€ or 9€.  I had trouble reading the signs since I didn’t read German, I never really knew how the prices worked. Also the “Lunch Ladies” always seemed to be mad at me for not knowing German or knowing what they were saying when they were speaking in German. The campus was large but very easy to understand.

Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros

There were maps everywhere to figure it out. But the students were all very nice and very interested to get to know us and Americans. The rooms are full of large about 4 foot long tables and chairs. There are about 10 rows. I was in one lecture room and it was a little inconvenient to use the room because there was only one entrance to every row so if you wanted to get up to go to the bathroom, you don’t. Also you could pretty much go anywhere to study, in the hallway, any empty classroom, the Menza, or the Cafe. I really enjoyed spending time in the town of Paderborn, it was so easy to walk into town. I walked into town everyday after school to shop, eat ice cream and eat dinner. It was really fun to experience how easy it was. It is so easy in Germany to get around whether it’s from town to town or around the town. I love Western and I loved Paderborn, I am so happy that I was able to experience the in Germany.

Photo credit: Anastasia Metros
Photo credit: Anastasia Metros

 

Leave a Reply

