Culture (Not) Schocked

Devon Jacquay
Sales and Business Marketing Major
Business and Culture in the Dominican Republic
Summer I faculty-led program in the Dominican Republic

Typically, when a person visits a new country whose culture is completely foreign to their own you would expect him/her to feel a slight sense of personal disorientation. I anticipated this feeling prior to landing in the Dominican Republic, and to my surprise I was welcomed warmly. Even though “me hablo espanol poquito” most people that I have encountered here in the Dominican Republic were eager to teach me both Spanish, and their way of life.

My experience was enhanced due to the fact that my appearance was similar to many Dominican men. I was commonly asked if I was Dominican or had any Dominican relatives. It felt good to be viewed as a Dominican because the Dominicans are a strong and proud people who are passionate about their culture. I could get used to this.

Photo Credit: Devon Jacquay, Dominican Republic, 2016
Photo Credit: Devon Jacquay, Dominican Republic, 2016
Leave a Reply

