My sketchbook is packed!

Lynnae Strait
Graphic Design Major
Book Arts in Venice, Italy
Summer I short-term, faculty-led course

It’s almost here! In about three weeks, I will be travelling outside of the United States for the first time to…Canada!…

…and then on a connecting flight to Venice, Italy! (no offense, Canada, but you ain’t Venice)

For three weeks, I will be travelling around Italy to study book arts. It’s a subject I’ve only recently begun studying, and it gets more and more exciting the more I learn!

I don’t have any major anxieties about studying abroad yet, but I think that’s partially because my mother is absorbing all the things to stress about. It was advised to us that we pack light because we’ll have to drag our bags around to the different places we’ll be staying—this didn’t sit too well with my mom. Being the caring parent that she is, she wants me to pack everything and the kitchen sink—because I’ll definitely need a third fleece jacket with me during the Italian summer.

All mom-anxieties aside, I can’t even comprehend the fact that in less than a month, I’ll be travelling to Florence, Verona, and Venice! It will be so exciting to visit historical sights that are older than the U.S., as well as learn more about book arts in a country where it originated. I’ll have so much more to report once I’m there, but for now, I’ll be here waiting for this once-in-a-lifetime trip!

My sketchbook 1

The sketchbook I made in a workshop to carry around Italy with me to draw and journal my experiences! Photo Credit: Lynnae Strait, 2016
The sketchbook I made in a workshop to carry around Italy with me to draw and journal my experiences!
Photo Credit: Lynnae Strait, 2016
Leave a Reply

