Germany: First Impressions

Juan Carlos Pastor
Accountancy Major
German Business and Culture, Germany
Summer I short-term, faculty-led course

When I first arrived to Germany, I exchanged my US Dollars at the nearest currency exchange in the airport. I was a little worried at first because I had visited the currency exchange booth but saw nobody there. So I tried going to the ATM, but unfortunately my bank card didn’t work at all. I was beginning to panic because I had gone by myself and I was in a foreign country with no money. I went back to the currency exchange booth and someone had come back to be able to exchange my US Dollars to Euros.

In this program, we do not go one day without transportation. On my first day, I took a bus to the area where the hotel was. Everyday our days consists of getting on buses, taxis, or trains. Just recently we went on a boat ride and then a cable car which was ecstatic with the views we had on the way to our destination. When we get on buses, sometimes it was full so it gets uncomfortable standing up and squeezed in by all the people. But when they’re empty, well of course it’s good and comfortable.

Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016
Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016

The people and the beautiful architecture have really surprised me. I really thought that the German people would be rude, but overall they are really nice and always happy. I mean I can’t blame them when they live in a country this beautiful! I love the castles, older buildings, small town areas because to me, that says Germany all over it. The food also surprised me. I have got to say that I will miss the Doner-Kabobs from here. They are almost like a gyro, but ten times better with the type of bread, meat, and sauce they use. I highly recommend getting one when traveling in Germany.

Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016
Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016

The way I have communicated with loved ones back at home are Facebook and regular messaging. I was able to get a international package with my phone company to be able to let me text still. The problem out here is that the Wi-Fi is not the best. Sometimes it’s a struggle trying to post up pictures on Facebook because of the Wi-Fi signal being weak. But other than that, I have been successfully sending messages to my family and friends describing how my trip is and how amazing it is out here in Germany!

Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016
Photo Credit: Juan Carlos Pastor, Germany, 2016
Leave a Reply

