Traveling Around Europe

Chloe Childs
Major: Advertising
Novancia Business School, Paris, France

Since being in France, I have advantage of the ease of travel and gone to Spain, Wales, England, and Belgium. Spain was a weekend trip in which I went to visit my friend who is also studying abroad and I visited the other three countries during my break at the end of February.

For my travels during break, I used either a coach bus or a train for my methods of transportation. There are pros and cons to each method. In comparison to planes, buses and trains are normally much more inexpensive. However, trains can also be rather expensive depending on how early in advance you book the ticket. Another positive side to using the coach bus or train system is that they arrive and depart from locations inside of the city, which is convenient. When I fly, I have to take a bus, or busses, from the city to the airport. That typically adds on an extra hour or two.

When I went to Spain I had to be to the airport an hour before boarding to check in and go through security. In order to get there on time, I left my apartment three hours before my flight in order to catch the correct busses to get to the airport.

Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
Photo Credit: Chloe Childs

On the other hand, taking the bus can make for a much longer journey overall. I took the overnight bus from Paris to London and from London to Brussels. The overnight bus makes it easier to sleep during the journey, but there was also a two-hour duration that I had to get off the bus when we crossed the English Channel on the ferry.

Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
Photo Credit: Chloe Childs

The bus can also be a rougher and more uncomfortable option. The actual journey in the plane is typically much shorter and much smoother. The train is in the middle of both methods; it is a fairly comfortable way to travel and it is quicker than the bus, but slower than the plane. Overall, all three options are useful for different reasons. It just depends on your destination and budget.

Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
Photo Credit: Chloe Childs
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

