PRE-DEPARTURE: ONE WEEK TO GO!

Caitlin Wiley
Majors: Global and International Studies, Spanish
Spanish language in Buenos Aires, Argentina

In exactly 7 days, I will be leaving to study Spanish in Argentina for the semester.  To say I’m excited (and just a little nervous) would be an understatement.  But at this point, everything is almost ready!

I’ll be living for the next 3 and a half months in Buenos Aires, the capital and largest city of Argentina with a population of 2.89 million people.  It will be the first time that I have lived in a big city and my second time living abroad.  The 7 days I have left until my departure will be a mix of anxiety over packing, giddiness at the thought of the upcoming adventure, and sadness over the people I will be leaving behind.  While many of my friends have already gone back to class in Kalamazoo, I have had some extra time at home to take care of last minute details and relax a little with my family.  Seeing their pictures and posts on social media makes me miss them before I have even set foot on the plane.  Even so, I know that my time in Argentina will be amazing, and I’ll be able to come back to them with some cool stories of my own from the semester!iguazu_falls2

The part of the trip that I’m most looking forward to will be planning my weekend side trips!  The picture above (courtesy of The UK Telegraph) is of Iguazu Falls, a series of huge waterfalls a few hours away from the city.  It is one of the places I would love to visit, among a few others.  Lollapalooza will also be going on while I am there and I may go to that music festival with a group of students from Western.

I’ll be busy packing and working on last minute preparations (and probably freaking out a little bit) over the next week, as well as visiting Kalamazoo to see my friends and say goodbye before my departure.  I hope that everything goes well, and that I’ll have more to report soon about my trip south.  It will be, with a little luck and a lot of learning, the adventure of a lifetime.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Moritz says:

    Sounds like an amazing experience ahead! I’ll have the pleasure to visit the Iguazu Falls in just a few months as well! I actually can’t wait for this experience 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

