If It Feels Right, Go Left

Amanda Foster
Swinburne Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Australia
Major: Management

Everything here feels opposite and it’s more than just winter in July. The first thing to stick out after my plane landed was that people were driving on the wrong side of the road. Not only were cars driving in the left-side lane, but also the drivers themselves were on the left side of the car. The university’s driver service transported a small group of us from the airport to campus and I couldn’t help but to feel uneasy as cars rushed by on the right.

But it’s more than just the cars. I have never been more aware of my instinct to walk on the right hand side of the sidewalk and pass people on the left. Australians follow suit with their traffic patterns and walk on the left side and pass on the right. Even when consciously telling myself to stay to the left in the city, I would still constantly find myself awkwardly dodging people coming at me straight on from the right side of the walk way.

Go Left by Amanda Foster
Go Left by Amanda Foster

Leave a Reply

