Happy Holi!

Brad Baughman
Studied abroad in 2013
Arabic Studies in the Emirates, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

I also had the opportunity to visit Qatar, Oman and India while abroad. This was a very humbling experience for me. I returned to the states with a greater appreciation for what I have, and the opportunities my country has to offer. While in India I attending their world renowned annual Holi festival, where thousands of people walk through the streets and throw this paint powder. Then they walk up, give you a hug and say “Happy Holi”!

uae

Some of the other awesome places I had the privilege to see were the Musuem of Islamic Art in Doha, The Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi, The Taj Mahal in Agra, and the Burge Khalifa in Dubai to name a few. Below is a photo of the world’s largest chandelier and carpet taken in the Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi.

uae 2

Post Voyage- Unpacking the Experience

I have now been home for four and a half months, and I will be leaving the states very soon to teach English in Alexandria Egypt. My semester abroad planted a seed in me. I returned to the states with a greater appreciation for what I had, and an increased desire to make a positive difference in the world. I also have a great desire to see more of the world, and help promote peace and understanding in an increasingly globalized world. I feel honored and privileged to have had this opportunity, and I strongly encourage others to go abroad. Just remember to keep an open mind and enjoy whatever comes your way. The proverb ‘You get out of it what you put into it’ is important to remember. I got a LOT out of my experience, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

