Pit Stop in Spain Before London!

Regent’s University London, United Kingdom

Major: Advertising and Promotion in the Haworth College of Business

By: Katie Bell

Well, I made it to Spain.  Traveling alone has not been as terrifying as I thought.  I was even lucky enough to make a friend on the flight there. Her name was Alyssa and she was traveling on a different study abroad trip with her school. We got along so well the airline attendant thought we were traveling together. On the other hand once I got to the Malaga Airport in Spain. I had a pretty tough time finding my luggage. I had to ask three different people before finally learning that since I had arrived on a connecting flight From the United States my luggage was sent to a different part of baggage collection.  However, once I learned this information, I found my bag right away and was greeted immediately at the arrivals entrance by my friend Chrissy, who I am visiting in Spain. We spent the day wondering around an old castle in Malaga then took a blaij Car, which is a car pooling system they have in Europe, to Chrissy’s home-town Seville.

Spain is absolutely beautiful; it has a very different feel than the United States. The streets are all cobble stone, they can be very twisty, and don’t always have enough room for sidewalks. One thing I have noticed is that Seville is very clean. They sweep and even scrub the sidewalks. I haven’t seen any liter besides fallen oranges from the trees.  The food here is the most amazing food I have ever had. It is easy to try food out of your comfort zone, because in Spain tapas are very popular. Tapas are small plates for the cost of only 3 to 5 Euros. I have tried many different types of food, but squid ink is my favorite.

It may look eerie, but I swear it is delicious! Photo: Katie Bell
It may look eerie, but I swear it is delicious!
Photo: Katie Bell

Chrissy showed me around her town, but unfortunately had to work some of the time I was in visiting.  I was really nervous about wandering around Seville on my own because I speak very little Spanish.  However, it turns out I had loads of fun and barely got lost. Chrissy found me a map and drew directions to different destinations for me to try out. My favorite was the Arabic baths. They are warm saltwater baths that are indoor and lit by low hanging lanterns and dozens of candles. On top of this they gave me a free 15-minute massage!

Below are just a few of scenes I saw while visiting Spain.

Seville, Spain Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain
Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain
Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain
Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain Photo: Katie Bell
Seville, Spain
Photo: Katie Bell
Leave a Reply

