Pre-Departure

By: Melina Bonomo
Major: Health Education: Community in the College of Education and Human Development
Exploring Health and Healthcare Systems in South Africa

When did you realize you had interest in studying abroad? Here is my story. I was sitting in my class when I noticed my professor’s laptop screen background was of these elephants in a beautiful prairie setting. Without realizing, I stopped our lecture of 12 people, and said, “Dr.B, did you take that picture?!” His response? “Yes, in South Africa, want to go? I take a class there to study abroad during Summer One.” I have always been terrified to leave the country and fly long distance over water, but the beauty within the picture just completely stole me, next thing I knew “YES.”, blurted out of my mouth. Before I realized it, in the middle of class I was signing up for the class online and researching scholarships. I can remember texting my mom telling her I was going to South Africa and the response I got back from her was something I will always remember, “I am so proud of you, but you?… flying across an ocean? To another country?!” My mom really was proud which made me even more excited for the trip. My dad was a little nervous at first, but he gradually came around. I suggest to anyone who has interest in traveling and studying abroad, when talking to your parents, stay calm and be proud of what you have accomplished, studying abroad is the chance of a life time, besides you have plenty of Broncos to support you!

A view from the Lion's Head looking at the Table Mountain's mountain range facing the Atlantic Ocean known as the Twelve Apostles in Cape Town, South Africa by Jeremy Goldman
A view from the Lion’s Head looking at the Table Mountain’s mountain range facing the Atlantic Ocean known as the Twelve Apostles in Cape Town, South Africa by Jeremy Goldman
Leave a Reply

